The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
View all my reviews

What a delight to read!! I must admit that about midway, I had an inkling as to whodunit, which really kept me reading. If my idea was right, I needed the motive, which I couldn’t figure, so I occasionally doubted my thoughts. Nevertheless, my curiosity and interest stayed high, keeping my nose in the pages.

However thrilled I was of course to be right – do note that Ms. Christie’s device wasn’t that easy to decipher. As I noted, there were times I doubted my opinion. This was the first time I’d read one of her books and I can’t express how much I enjoyed the M. Poirot character. Quite an interesting man and now I’m looking forward to reading more of his sleuthing adventures. Oh, and his advice to the murderer was absolutely astonishing and jaw-dropping. I’m still boggle-eyed about it! He’s really something! Man…

Yes, this was more of an expression of my enjoyment of the book than a summary and review. So, if you enjoy reading cozy mysteries and perhaps like me, you somehow haven’t yet read Agatha Christie – I suggest starting with this one!

Thanks for reading! For immediate publishing updates, please stop by my website and sign up for my newsletter. My thanks to you is a FREE story – Without Your Goodbye!

5 thoughts on “The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie

  1. I have read a number of Agatha Christie books

    It all started when a 12th grade required reading book was And Then There Was None. I loved that book- ever since, read a number others

    Like

    1. I can’t believe I’m just getting to them! Murder on the Orient Express is up next for me; I’ve got a copy of that now. I read great reviews about And Then There Was None recently, so I’m looking forward getting that one too! Death on the Nile also.

      Like

Leave a comment