May your Christmas be filled with Joy and Books

bookschristmastimeAs the end of the year approaches, I’m trying to wrap up Outline by Rachel Cusk – a story about a creative writing teacher. This year’s National Book Award winner, Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates, awaits after that, along with Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay. I do hope to finish them all before next week, but I know it’s a tall order. My own story is on hold… my poor characters, supposedly in suspension, are poking and prodding me in my sleep and at all other times demanding I return to my desk to finish telling their tales. Unfortunately, I’ve found it easier to read other books (and my accompanying Overdrive copies from the library) than to concentrate on my own during this Christmas season. However, I have no choice but to return to them. I want to, so I will.

Even as I seek out writing time, my to-be-read list gets longer by the day. Last week, my son warmed my heart during a search within Barnes & Noble – “Who’s your favorite author?” I knew where he was… it’s the perfect go-to place for me when you don’t know what to get me (my mom knows too – that annual B&N gift card always makes my day). I couldn’t answer – it was such a broad question, so I texted back the suggestion of one of the books at the top of my to-be-read pile. Hopefully, he found it. I’ll let you know.

What are you finishing up from your reading pile this year??? Do share.

Merry Christmas to all and Happy Reading!!!

Thanks for reading! For my immediate publishing updates, please stop by my website and sign up for my newsletter. My thanks to you is a FREE ebook – Shelf Space: A Short Story!

8 thoughts on “May your Christmas be filled with Joy and Books

  1. Merry Christmas! I recently finished reading The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson. Right now I’m reading Act Like A Success, Think Like A Success by Steve Harvey. And A Writer’s Guide to Persistence by Jordan Rosenfeld. I have to get back to my own characters and story as well. Took a break because I was preoccupied with NaNoWriMo.

    Like

  2. Merry Christmas, Tonya! Your post struck a chord because my (adult) kids played the most elaborate surprise for me this year. it included buying a beautiful book they knew was’t among any books I wanted to read, which resulted in a story that will stay with the family forever. That said, one of my resolutions for this year was to slow down on the book writing, something I’ve accomplished by all measures. Like you, I’ve got to get back to writing my books!

    Happy New Year, Tonya… and everyone!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

